Marjane Satrapi: On Artistic Freedom, Fame & Finishing No Matter What

Brisbane Video Prodution

 Satrapi: On Artistic Freedom, Fame & Finishing No Matter What
http://the99percent.com/articles/7134/Marjane-Satrapi-On-Artistic-Freedom-Fame-Finishing-No-Matter-What

Why were you attracted to the graphic novel art form? Well for me, who is someone who cannot choose between writing and drawing, it was the best way of expressing myself. And I enjoyed doing it for a long time very much, but it’s very solitary. And now the love of my life is the cinema, and maybe in three years it will be something else. But I don’t have any career plans like, oh, I will do this or that. Life is too short and we cannot spoil it. I don’t have 300 years in front of me. So I just do the things that I really want to do at the moment because that’s the only way you will do them well. If you don’t believe in yourself, it won’t work. Because creation, you know, it means that you don’t have any salary, you don’t have any retirement, all of that. So if you don’t have the security, at least have the freedom. I go for the freedom.

Brisbane Video Prodution

(via Instapaper)

Leave a Reply

